Event Description

With its narrative structure and use of over 100 musicians, Strauss’s larger-than-life tone poem about a journey through the Alps was considered groundbreaking at the time of its premiere. This colossal piece is paired with a new work by Christopher Cerrone, co-commissioned with the Britt Festival Orchestra, featuring the Grammy Award-winning ensemble Third Coast Percussion.


Cerrone Untitled (World Premiere)
R. Strauss An Alpine Symphony, Op. 64


Ken-David Masur conductor
Third Coast Percussion soloists


220 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60604
United States
(312) 294-3000