Event Description


Come join the musicians of Picosa in this program for the Metropolis Performing Arts Centre, a vibrant space where folks of all ages can enjoy hearing, performing, and learning about music! We’re thrilled to bring this high energy and varied program filled with the vitality of this center for the arts.  Opening our concert is Nico Muhly’s trio for violin, cello, and piano titled Common Ground which is sure to energize audiences with its relentless rhythmic drive.  Peter Schickele’s Quartet for clarinet, violin, cello, and piano is a romantic divergence, filled with a beautiful Americana sound. Marc Mellits’ whimsical Spam for full ensemble is the perfect close to our first half.  Our second half begins with Franz Joseph Haydn’s Divertissement for flute, violin, cello, which was written in the epitome of classical era style.  Argentinian composer Alberto Ginastera’s Duo for flute and clarinet adds a moment of sheer virtuosity to the program.  Finally, we conclude with our pièce de résistance, Arnold Schoenberg’s masterful Kammersymphonie No. 1, which was transcribed perfectly by his student Anton Webern from its original chamber orchestra version to the quintet version for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano.


Nico Muhly | Common Ground (violin/cello/piano)
Peter Schickele | Quartet (clar/violin/cello/piano)
Marc Mellits | Spam  (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)
Franz Joseph Haydn | Divertissment No. 1 (flute/violin/cello)
Alberto Ginastera | Duo (flute/clarinet)
Arnold Schoenberg arr. Webern | Kammersymphonie, op. 9 (flute/clar/violin/cello/piano)

Picosa Artists

Jennie Oh Brown | flute
Andrea R. DiOrio | clarinet
Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin
Patti Garvey | cello
Kuang-Hao Huang | piano
Jonathon Kirk | Composer-in-Residence

111 West Campbell Street
Arlington Heights, IL 60005
United States
(847) 577-2121