Event Description

MusicNOW celebrates the 55th anniversary of Chicago’s own Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM), founded in May 1965. The AACM pays homage to the diverse styles of expression within the body of Black Music in the US, Africa and throughout the world, an experience that extends from ancient traditions to futuristic sounds. On May 18, the CSO will honor the organization’s long history and its profound impact on modern music.

The International Contemporary Ensemble is joined by Musicians from the Civic Orchestra of Chicago for a special encore performance of music by Nicole Mitchell and George Lewis.


Reid, Prospective Dwellers
Smith, Delta Blues [World Premiere] Mitchell, New Work [World Premiere, MusicNOW commission made possible through the generous support of Helen Zell] Lewis, Tales of the Traveler


Musicians from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Musicians from the Civic Orchestra of Chicago
International Contemporary Ensemble
Michael Lewanski, conductor
Tomeka Reid, cello
Missy Mazzoli Mead, CSO Composer-in-Residence

Harris Theater for Music and Dance 205 E Randolph Street
Chicago, IL 60601