Event Description

Individual and collective virtuosity is on full display in a program that opens with a new work by Mead Composer-in-Residence Jessie Montgomery. Joan Tower’s Rising for flute and strings builds energy and excitement through its exploration of quickening tempos and ascending melodies. Gabriel Cabezas, hailed by the Chicago Tribune for his “polished execution with a burnished warmth of tone,” is featured in Alyssa Weinberg’s Caligo, a concerto that highlights the cello’s broad spectrum of sonic color, and composer James Moore takes a solo turn in his stunning showpiece for electric guitar.

Jessie Montgomery: Overture
Joan Tower: Rising
Alyssa Weinberg: Caligo
James Moore: Sleep is Shattered

Harris Theater for Music and Dance 205 E Randolph Street
Chicago, IL 60601