Event Description

Riccardo Muti conducts a program of expressive works ranging from Stravinsky’s brilliantly colorful showpiece Scherzo fantastique to two evocative works inspired by the sea. Witness the spectacular CSO low brass section, distinguished for its purity of sound and clarity of attack, in a new work by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Jennifer Higdon, whose compositions have been acclaimed as “the most inventive and substantive additions to American music in years” (The Baltimore Sun).

Riccardo Muti conductor
Clémentine Margaine mezzo-soprano
Jay Friedman trombone
Michael Mulcahy trombone
Charles Vernon bass trombone
Gene Pokorny tuba

Stravinsky Scherzo fantastique
Higdon Low Brass Concerto[World Premiere, CSO Co-commission] Chausson Poème de l’amour et de la mer
Britten Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes

220 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60604
United States
(312) 294-3000