Event Description

Riccardo Muti leads Gershwin’s cinematic An American in Paris and Tchaikovsky’s inventive Suite No. 3. Also on the program is the world premiere of a bass trombone concerto by James Stephenson, a composer of “straightforward, unabashedly beautiful sounds” (The Boston Herald), featuring Charles Vernon of the world-famous Chicago Symphony Orchestra brass.

Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Riccardo Muti conductor
Charles Vernon bass trombone

Gershwin An American in Paris
Stephenson Bass Trombone Concerto [World Premiere, CSO Commission] Tchaikovsky Suite No. 3

220 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60604
United States
(312) 294-3000