Event Description

World Premiere of Sonorous Earth for percussion quartet and orchestra will be presented by The Chicago Philharmonic Society and Grammy-winning Third Coast Percussion conducted by Scott Speck in Harris Theater for Music and Dance, Chicago. Featuring 300 bells from all over the world, SONOROUS EARTH can be thought of as a united nations of resonances. The project is conceived as a cultural statement celebrating interdependence and commonality across all cultures.

AUGUSTA READ THOMAS: Sonorous Earth (2017)
JOAN TOWER: Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 5
WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART: Symphony No. 41 (Jupiter)

The Chicago Philarmonic; Scott Speck, conductor; Third Coast Percussion; Augusta Read Thomas, composer

Harris Theater for Music and Dance 205 E Randolph Street
Chicago, IL 60601