Event Description

Proof of  COVID vaccination is required upon entry.

You can watch the livestream here: https://youtu.be/LMEGLJFjaTI

Altoist-composer Amos Gillespie’s Unstructured Time is a nine-part jazz suite about finding peace in a loud and overcrowded world. Utilizing a sextet that includes pianist Angelo Hart, guitarist Casey Nielsen and, on half of the selections, the vocals of Alexandra Olsavsky, Gillespie has created a thought-provoking and spirited work that covers a variety of moods while often swinging hard.

A spirited Chicago sax man reaches back for the old theme of man’s inhumanity to man on this 9 part suite about turning off all that god damned noise in this god damned noisy world.  With enough solid works under his belt to qualify him as another of this town’s rising jewels, he’s on point here as a writer, player and leader not missing a step anywhere along the way.  A really satisfying release that buoyantly goes the distance. Chris Spector – Midwest Record

Angelo Hart will play an opening set of original piano music.

Amos Gillespie – alto/compositions

Andy Schlinder – Tenor

Gustavo Cortinas – drums

Angelo Hart – piano

Dan Thatcher – bass

Casey Nielsen – guitar

Alexandra Olsavsky – voice

3111 N Western Ave.
Chicago, IL 60618